nerds are like “ugh mr mime is so creepy in the detective pikachu trailer” like they expected a cute mr mime??? mr mime. mr mime???? live action mr mime being a terrifying imp is the most accurate pokemon in the trailer why are y’all shocked.
on conventions i go to i mostly see other women selling on artist alleys, in fandom spaces most artist i interact with also happen to be women
if anything meeting guys who draw (actually dedicated to it, not self proclaimed geniuses who are all words and no action) has always been a very rare occasion for me
and yet the industry is all upside down it seems
but yeah that’s my experience as a russian, is it any different in other countries?
Apparently for dudes who’ve got a compulsive need to be the smartest person in the room, “someone who’s wrong in a really stupid way who has unshakable confidence that they’re smarter than you” is their kryptonite. You can play dumb on almost any subject and their ego, their staunch belief that the masses are so far below them, will blind them to the fact that you’re just fucking with them, and as long as you don’t admit you’re fucking with them or acknowledge that there’s anything Off about what you’re saying, they won’t be able to stop themselves trying to get you to Respect Their Authority, and they won’t be able to see that will literally never happen.